Back to Top

Bowmanville Branch

Musical Families

- Comments: 0

[All ages] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children's Area
Fridays, January 11th to March 22nd
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in; no registration required. Space is limited on a first come, first served basis.
No charge.

Music helps your little one develop early literacy skills and gets them ready to read! Engage with your child while participating in a variety of musical experiences and activities including playing instruments, singing songs, and having fun with a parachute and bubbles!  

Presented in partnership with EarlyON Child and Family Centres Bowmanville.

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Mar 22 2019.
Friday, January 11, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, January 18, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, January 25, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, February 8, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, February 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, March 8, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, March 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Black History Month: Tales by Moonlight (Saturday Morning Stories)

- Comments: 0

[All ages] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children’s Area
Saturday, February 9th  
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in, no registration required.
No charge.

Join us for a special edition of Saturday Morning Stories as we celebrate Black History Month. Learn about the exotic animals and characters in African folklore and drum along! Drums et al will be presenting inter-generational storytelling, songs, chants, and drums, drums, drums!

 

Date: 
Saturday, February 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Saturday Morning Stories

- Comments: 0

[All ages] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children's Area
Saturdays, January 12th to March 23rd
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Drop in on Saturday, Ferbruary 9th for a special edition of Saturday Morning Stories, Black History Month: Tales by Moonlight!

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

(New!) Join us for a brand new storytime on Saturday mornings! Every week is a new adventure – whether it’s in your own backyard, somewhere else on Earth, or even in outer space! There will be stories, songs, games, and maybe an experiment or two!

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning! 

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Mar 23 2019 except Sat Feb 09 2019.
Saturday, January 12, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, January 19, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, January 26, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, February 16, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, February 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, March 2, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, March 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Discovery Storytime

- Comments: 0

[Ages 2 and up] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children's Area
Thursdays, January 10th to March 21st
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Check out March Break programs instead on Thursday, March 14th!

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

(New!) Young children learn about the world through exploration, and it’s never too early to start! Each week preschoolers in Discover Storytimes can spark their curiosity and literacy with hands-on STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) activities combined with their favourite stories and songs.

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning! 

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 21 2019 except Thu Mar 14 2019.
Thursday, January 10, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, January 17, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, January 24, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Discovery Storytime

- Comments: 0

[Ages 2 and up] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children's Area
Wednesdays, January 9th to March 20th
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Check out March Break programs instead on Wednesday, March 13th!

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

(New!) Young children learn about the world through exploration, and it’s never too early to start! Each week preschoolers in Discover Storytimes can spark their curiosity and literacy with hands-on STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) activities combined with their favourite stories and songs.

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning! 

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 20 2019 except Wed Mar 13 2019.
Wednesday, January 9, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Audience: 

Baby Bookworms

- Comments: 0

[Ages 2 and under] 

Bowmanville Branch, Children's Area
Tuesdays, January 8th to March 19th
10:30 to 11:00 a.m.

Check out March Break programs instead on Tuesday, March 12th!

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

(New!) Children love to be bounced, tickled, and read to. Learn how the sound of your voice, the rhythm of a song, holding a book, and reading all get your child ready to read.

Talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing are the key skills and fun ways to help your child get ready to read! Developing early literacy skills makes it easier for children to read once they begin school, and helps foster a lifelong love of reading and learning! 

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Mar 19 2019 except Tue Mar 12 2019.
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Audience: 

Babysitting Course (Session 3)

- Comments: 0

[Ages 10 to 12]

Bowmanville Branch, Mezzanine Room
Thursday, March 14th 
9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Advanced registration required; space is limited. Register online, in person, or by phone.
Cost $60 ; includes participant manual.
Recommended that attendees bring a lunch or snack. 

This course teaches your teen the fundamental skills they need to start their own babysitting service. A Red Cross certified instructor from React Right Safety Services teaches the class.

Topics include:

  • How to give appropriate care for infants, toddlers and school-aged children;
  • Dealing with basic First Aid emergencies;
  • How to recognize potential hazards;
  • What parents expect of a babysitter;
  • How to safely find customers; and
  • Rural babysitting.

Note: Bring a teddy bear to practice on!

Caregivers and support staff for people with disabilities are admitted free of charge.

Presented in partnership with React Right Safety Services.

Other sessions of the Babysitting Program are offered on Saturday, January 26 and Sunday, January 27 at the Newcastle Branch, and on Saturday, February 16 and Sunday, February 17 at the Courtice Branch.

 

Registration

You may register your child(ren) in person at any branch, by phoning Information Services at 905-623-7322 x2712, or online using the form below.

 

Date: 
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 9:30am to 4:30pm
Audience: 

Stop Motion Magic

- Comments: 0

[Ages 8 and up]

Bowmanville Branch, Children’s Area
Tuesdays, January 15th to March 5th 
4:00 to 5:00 p.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Get creative with technology, and explore stop-motion animation! Create your own movie magic using Stikbots® and LEGO®, then finish the program session with a film festival! 

Share your creations with family and friends on the big screen and through the Library's YouTube channel!

Please note that caregivers of children under the age of 10 must be present in the Library for the duration of the program.

 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Mar 05 2019.
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Audience: 

High Tech, Low Tech (P.A. Day Fun!)

- Comments: 0

[All ages]

Bowmanville Branch, Children’s Area
Friday, February 1st 
1:30 to 2:30 p.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Did you know that the library has lots of tech that you can explore? There’s everything from big blocks and gears to Makey Makey, Arduino, and Kano. Drop by and see what we have to offer in this high tech/low tech petting zoo!

Please note that caregivers of children under the age of 10 must be present in the Library for the duration of the program.

 

Date: 
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Audience: 

French Game Night

- Comments: 0

[All ages]

Bowmanville Branch, Mezzanine Room
Friday, March 22nd
6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Drop in; no registration required.
No charge.

Practice your French skills in a fun and challenging way. Improve your language abilities while playing Bingo, Charades and more. Perfect for French Immersion students!

Presented in partnership with Canadian Parents for French.

Be sure to check out the other French Game Nights on Friday, January 25th and Friday, February 15th!

 

Date: 
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Audience: 

Pages

Subscribe to Bowmanville Branch